Galaxy Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Galaxy Bookshop
Register with Galaxy Bookshop
New Releases

Horror

Kaiju Rising: Age of Monsters

Kaiju Rising: Age of Monsters

Tim Marquitz ,  N. X. Sharps

$37.95
A revised and updated 2nd edition, Kaiju Rising: Age of Monsters is a collection of stories focused on strange creatures in the vein of Pacific Rim, Godzilla, Cloverfield, and more. Opening with a foreword by Jeremy Robinson author of Project Nemesis, the highest selling Kaiju novel in the United States since the old Godzilla books the collection features work from New York Times bestsellers to indie darlings. Authors include Peter Clines, Larry Correia, James Lovegrove, Gini Koch (as J.C. Koch), James Maxey, Jonathan Wood, C.L. Werner, Joshua Reynolds, David Annandale, Jaym Gates, Peter Rawlik, Shane Berryhill, Natania Barron, Mike MacLean, Timothy W. Long, Bonnie Jo Stufflebeam, Kane Gilmour, Peter Stenson, Erin Hoffman, Howard Andrew Jones, Edward M. Erdelac, and James Swallow.
Add this item to my basket
Brimstone

Brimstone

Cherie Priest

$27.99
During the Great War, Tomas operated a devastating weapon - a flame projector that doused the enemy in liquid fire. Having left the battlefield a shattered man, he comes home to find yet more tragedy - his wife has died of flu. Haunted and broken, he dreams of fire. Alice Dartle is a talented clairvoyant. Her fiery nightmares are connected to the shell-shocked war veteran and widower. She believes she can bring peace to him and his wife's spirit. But the inferno that threatens to consume Tomas and Alice was set ablaze centuries ago by someone whose hatred transcended death itself...
Add this item to my basket
Frankenstein: Annotated for Scientists, Engineers, and Creators of All Kinds

Frankenstein: Annotated for Scientists, Engineers, and Creators of All Kinds

Mary Shelley ,  David H. Guston ,  Jason Scott Robert ,  Charles E. Robinson

$44.99
Mary Shelley's  Frankenstein has endured in the popular imagination for two hundred years. Begun as a ghost story by an intellectually and socially precocious eighteen-year-old author during a cold and rainy summer on the shores of Lake Geneva, the dramatic tale of Victor Frankenstein and his stitched-together creature can been read as the ultimate parable of scientific hubris.

Victor,  the modern Prometheus,  tried to do what he perhaps should have left to Nature: create life. Although the novel is most often discussed in literary-historical terms - as a seminal example of romanticism or as a groundbreaking early work of science fiction - Mary Shelley was keenly aware of contemporary scientific developments and incorporated them into her story.

In our era of synthetic biology, artificial intelligence, robotics, and climate engineering, this edition of  Frankenstein will resonate forcefully for readers with a background or interest in science and engineering, and anyone intrigued by the fundamental questions of creativity and responsibility.

This edition of Frankenstein pairs the original 1818 version of the manuscript - meticulously line-edited and amended by Charles E.  Robinson, one of the world's preeminent authorities on the text - with annotations and essays by leading scholars exploring the social and ethical aspects of scientific creativity raised by this remarkable story.

The result is a unique and accessible edition of one of the most thought-provoking and influential novels ever written.  Essays by Elizabeth Bear, Cory Doctorow, Heather E. Douglas, Josephine Johnson, Kate MacCord, Jane Maienschein, Anne K. Mellor, Alfred Nordmann.
Add this item to my basket
Fall: Blue Plague #1

Fall: Blue Plague #1

Thomas A. Watson

$18.95
Double Reward Points
More info
The Preppers were right. And the time is now.

The Blue Plague came roaring out of the Congo and into the United States-and it can't be stopped. The Infected become violently insane and impossibly strong. They're not zombies-no, that would be too easy-they're something much worse. The Infected are violent and unstoppable, but they can think. They can heal from most wounds. And worst of all-they can reproduce.

Bruce, Debbie, Mike and Nancy have been preparing for the worst for years. There's nothing to do but bug out-and they know exactly where to go. But on the arduous journey to reach the sanctuary of their farm, they confront thousands of The Infected. Along the way they make some invaluable new friends, and together, the emboldened troop kicks the hell out of the Infected-and the equally dangerous marauders who are willing to murder anyone in their way.

Join Bruce, Mike, and their newfound friends as they battle their way across Infected Louisiana, thwarting every foe imaginable in order to reach the sanctuary of their farm.

Blue Plague Book One: The Fall is a survivalist adventure filled with courage and betrayal, tragedy and hope.
Add this item to my basket
The Mammoth Book of the Mummy

The Mammoth Book of the Mummy

Paula Guran

$29.95
The mummy lives... As a figure of the supernatural the mummy has attained iconic status in the popular imagination. For the first time, The Mammoth Book of the Mummy presents a collection of tales written for the twenty-first century-including three brand-new stories-that explore, subvert, and reinvent the mummy mythos. Some delve into the past, others explore alternative histories, and some bring mummies into our own world. Within these covers lie stories of revenge, romance, monsters, and mayhem, ranging freely across time periods, genres, and styles sure to please both mummy-lovers and those less wrapped up in mummy lore!
Add this item to my basket
'48

'48

James Herbert

$19.99
In 1945, Hitler unleashed the Blood Death on Britain as his final act of vengeance. Those who died at once were the lucky ones. The really unfortunate took years. The survivors - people like me, who had the blood group that kept us safe from the disease - were now targets for those who believed our blood could save them. I survived for three years. I lived alone, spending my days avoiding the fascist Blackshirts who wanted my blood for their dying leader. Then I met the others - and life got complicated all over again...
Add this item to my basket
Haunted: David Ash #1

Haunted: David Ash #1

James Herbert

$19.99
Three nights of terror at the house called Edbrook. Three nights in which David Ash, there to investigate a haunting will be victim of horrifying and maleficent games. Three nights in which he will face the blood-chilling enigma of his own past. Three nights before Edbrook's dreadful secret will be revealed... And the true nightmare will begin.
Add this item to my basket
The Ghosts of Sleath: David Ash #2

The Ghosts of Sleath: David Ash #2

James Herbert

$27.95
Can a ghost haunt a ghost? Can the dead reach out and touch the living? Can ancient evil be made manifest? These are the questions that confront investigator David Ash when he is sent to the picturesque village of Sleath in the Chiltern Hills to look into mysterious reports of mass hauntings. What he discovers is a terrified community gripped by horrors and terrorized by ghosts from the ancient village's long history. As each dark secret is unveiled and terrible, malign forces are unleashed, he will fear for his very sanity. Sleath. Where the dead will walk the streets.
Add this item to my basket
Four Ghost Stories: 'Oh, Whistle, and I'll Come to You, My Lad' ;  An Episode of Cathedral History ;  Casting the Runes ; And  The Diary of Mr. Poynter

Four Ghost Stories: 'Oh, Whistle, and I'll Come to You, My Lad' ; An Episode of Cathedral History ; Casting the Runes ; And The Diary of Mr. Poynter

M. R. James

$18.95
This volume collects four of M. R. James's most beloved stories of the supernatural. These tales show how James redefined the ghost story and exemplify his connection to academia, antiquities, and medievalism, occupations that inspired and informed his fiction. Perfect as an introduction to James's understated mode of horror, these spine-chilling ghost stories demonstrate his mastery of the form.
Add this item to my basket
Dead West: Omnibus Two

Dead West: Omnibus Two

Tim Marquitz ,  J. M. Martin ,  Kenny Soward

$33.95
Fighting the Ten Thousand Things in the blood rain nearly killed Nina Weaver and her gang of -deadun- hunters, yet somehow they survived. But they paid a price. Now, Nina is cursed with strange new powers that chill her blood and bones with a cold so deep not even her love for James Manning can thaw it. And an ominous spirit travels with them as they take the fight to the Man in the Yellow Hood across a valley of darkness to the stricken town of Reno, NV. The evil sorcerer has set himself up there as king, and he is determined to unleash the powers of Hell upon the world. Will the spirit traveler in their company be their downfall? Or is it a weapon they can use to defeat Liao Xu once and for all? The final epic battle in the long-awaited conclusion brings Nina Weaver's arc of the Dead West series to a climactic end. Or does it?
Add this item to my basket
Invitation: Harbingers Cycle #1

Invitation: Harbingers Cycle #1

Frank Peretti ,  Angela Hunt ,  Bill Myers ,  Alton Gansky

$29.95
Four Bestselling Authors Team Up for Thrilling Supernatural Suspense Gathering four stories from four bestselling author friends, Invitation is the first collection in the ongoing Harbingers series. In The Call by Bill Myers, four strangers are drawn together to help a student at the mysterious Institute for Advanced Psychic Studies. His gifts are supposedly being honed to assist world leaders... but there are some very disturbing strings attached. Frank Peretti's The Haunted confronts a supernatural mystery, a case of murder, and an exploration into the darkness of the human heart, all centering around a mysterious house. In Angela Hunt's The Sentinels, animals around the world are mysteriously dying. What could it mean? When the tragedy begins to touch Andi's dreams, she discovers a terrifying theory. The Girl by Alton Gansky is a gripping tale of a young barefoot girl found holding a scroll in the snowy Oregon mountains. She is sweet, innocent - apparently not of this world - and something wants to kill her.
Add this item to my basket
           
Your cart does not contain any items.