Galaxy Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Galaxy Bookshop
Register with Galaxy Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

Abbey's Bookshop - Bookstore with specialisations in History, Science, Fiction, Crime

Language Book Centre - Foreign language learning, teaching and reading plus ESL


The Hugo Award, also known as the Science Fiction Achievement Award, is given annually by the World Science Fiction Society (WSFS). The distinguishing characteristics of the Hugo Award are that it is sponsored by WSFS, administered by the committee of the World Science Fiction Convention (Worldcon) held that year, and determined by nominations from and a popular vote of the membership of WSFS. In general, a Hugo Award given in a particular year is for work that appeared in the previous calendar year.
The official site can be found here


1946 Mule Isaac Asimov
1951 Farmer in the Sky Robert A Heinlein
1953 Demolished Man Alfred Bester
1954 No Award  
1955 They'd Rather Be Right Mark Clifton & Frank Riley
1956 Double Star Robert A Heinlein
1957 No Award  
1958 Big Time Fritz Leiber
1959 Case of Conscience James Blish
1960 Starship Troopers Robert A Heinlein
1961 Canticle for Leibowitz Walter M Miller Jnr.
1962 Stranger in a Strange Land Robert A Heinlein
1963 Man in the High Castle Philip K Dick
1964 Way Station Clifford D Dimak
1965 Wanderer Fritz Leiber
1966 ...And Call Me Conrad Roger Zelazny
" Dune Frank Herbert
1967 Moon is a Harsh Mistress Robert A Heinlein
1968 Lord of Light Roger Zelazny
1969 Stand on Zanzibar John Brunner
1970 Left Hand of Darkness Ursula K LeGuin
1971 Ringworld Larry Niven
1972 To Your Scattered Bodies Go Philip Jose Farmer
1973 Gods Themselves Isaac Asimov
1974 Rendezvous with Rama Arthur C Clarke
1975 Dispossessed Ursula K LeGuin
1976 Forever War Joe Haldeman
1977 Where Late the Sweet Birds Sang Kate Wilhelm
1978 Gateway Frederik Pohl
1979 Dreamsnake Vonda McIntyre
1980 Fountains of Paradise Arthur C Clarke
1981 Snow Queen Joan D Vinge
1982 Downbelow Station C J Cherryh
1983 Foundation's Edge Isaac Asimov
1984 Startide Rising David Brin
1985 Neuromancer William Gibson
1986 Ender's Game Orson Scott Card
1987 Speaker for the Dead Orson Scott Card
1988 Uplift War David Brin
1989 Cyteen C J Cherryh
1990 Hyperion Dan Simmons
1991 Vor Game Lois McMaster Bujold
1992 Barrayar Lois McMaster Bujold
1993 Fire Upon the Deep Vernor Vinge
" Doomsday Book Connie Willis
1994 Green Mars Kim Stanley Robinson
1995 Mirror Dance Lois McMaster Bujold
1996 Diamond Age Neal Stephenson
1997 Blue Mars Kim Stanley Robinson
1998 Forever Peace Joe Haldeman
1999 To Say Nothing of the Dog Connie Willis
2000 Deepness in the Sky Vernor Vinge
2001 Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire J K Rowling
2002 American Gods Neil Gaiman
2003 Hominids Robert J Sawyer
2004 Paladin of Souls Lois MacMaster Bujold
2005 Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell
Susanna Clarke


 Spin  Robert Charles Wilson
 2007  Rainbows End
 Vernor Vinge
 2008  The Yiddish Policemans Union  Michael Chabon
 2009  The Graveyard Book  Neil Gaiman
 2010 The Windup Girl Paolo Bacigalupi
 2011 Blackout/All Clear Connie Willis

My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.