Galaxy Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Galaxy Bookshop
Register with Galaxy Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

facebook
Google Book Preview
Bloodleaf (#1 Bloodleaf)
— —
Crystal Smith
Bloodleaf (#1 Bloodleaf) by Crystal Smith at Galaxy Bookshop,

Bloodleaf (#1 Bloodleaf)

Crystal Smith


9781328496300

Houghton Mifflin


Fantasy » Epic Fantasy;
Fantasy » Dark Fantasy;
Fantasy » Fairy Tale;
Fantasy » Magic;
Nexus - Young Adult;
Fantasy » Ghosts;
Young Adult » Young Adult Fantasy


Hardback

384 pages

$35.95
In stock
Ready to ship
order qty:  
Add this item to my basket

A roar of a dark and luscious epic fantasy that's layered with heady romance, bloodthirsty magic, and ghostly intrigue - an absolutely wicked delight. Princess Aurelia is a prisoner to her crown and the heir that nobody wants. Surrounded by spirits and banned from using her blood-magic, Aurelia flees her country after a devastating assassination attempt. To escape her fate, Aurelia disguises herself as a commoner in a new land and discovers a happiness her crown has never allowed. As she forges new bonds and perfects her magic, she begins to fall for a man who is forbidden to rule beside her. But the ghosts that haunt Aurelia refuse to abandon her, and she finds herself succumbing to their call as they expose a nefarious plot that only she can defeat. Will she be forced to choose between the weight of the crown and the freedom of her new life?

By:   Crystal Smith
Imprint:   Houghton Mifflin
Country of Publication:   United States
Dimensions:   Height: 231mm,  Width: 155mm,  Spine: 38mm
Weight:   567g
ISBN:   9781328496300
ISBN 10:   1328496309
Series:   Bloodleaf Trilogy
Pages:   384
Publication Date:   March 2019
Recommended Age:   From 13 to 17 years
Audience:   Young adult ,  Preschool (0-5)
Format:   Hardback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Crystal Smith is a writer, photographer, and artist who developed an early love of storytelling in a family of voracious readers. She resides in Utah with her high school sweetheart husband and two lively sons. When she isn't writing or creating, she can be found re-watching Jane Eyre or reading ghost stories with all the lights on. @crysrensmith.


Enchanting, visceral, and twisty, Bloodleaf is a phantasmagorical wonder that will keep you guessing until the very last page. --NYT bestselling author of Ash Princess, Laura Sebastian Eerie, immersive, and fascinating, Bloodleaf feels like a classic in the making. Readers will be pulled deep into Aurelia's world, and lose sleep alongside her as the deadly mysteries close in. --Sarah Holland, NYT bestselling author of Everless Smith weaves together mystery, adventure and a reimagined fairy tale in this bewitching debut. An irresistible, spellbinding story. --Rebecca Ross, author of The Queen's Rising I am all in my feelings about this book. This book got under my skin and poked at my soul. Bloodleaf is gritty, raw, and dark but it is also beautiful and powerful. Crystal Smith is like the George R.R. Martin of YA. A roundhouse kick to the heart and readers will ask for more--Crystal has a new fan! --Kim Brock, Joseph Beth Booksellers, Cincinnati, OH Bloodleaf provides food for thought on our world even while immersing readers in a fully imagined world of its own. The combination of magic and political intrigue make it a great choice for fans of Victoria Aveyard or Susan Dennard. --Leslie Hawkins, Spellbound Children's Bookshop, Asheville, NC I was so absolutely enthralled with what was going on that I wasn't even thinking more than a sentence ahead. Highly Highly recommend!! --Nichole Cousins, White Birch Books, North Conway, NH Bloodleaf is one of those rare stories that truly grabbed me from the very first paragraph and never let me go. So much more than a retelling of the Grimm fairy tale the Goose Girl, Crystal Smith has woven a tale of identity, secrets, adventure, magic, and love that I just adored. I cannot wait for what comes next! --Lauren D'Alessio, Wellesley Books, Wellesley, MA Unusually convincing romantic tension and exceptionally dynamic character development. --Kenny Brechner, DDG Booksellers, Farmington, ME Bloodleaf is an intriguing and suspenseful fantasy, sure to be popular with teen and adult readers. I loved it and am already looking forward to book 2! --Holly Frakes, Schuler Books and Music, Okemos, MI Being strong means making important choices in a moment-- Aurelia has to abandon her emotional and physical comforts, and her family to save her kingdom. Through complicated magic and courage, Aurelia shows us how believing in yourself, while not being selfish, conjures up a power that brings justice to her world. --Kira Wizner, Merritt Bookstore, Millbrook, NY A YA fantasy page turner, Bloodleaf captures all the excitement of a strong princess fighting for her country and her life while exploring her identity. --Jen Kraar, City of Asylum Books, Pittsburgh, PA An excellent choice for fans of smart, independent female leads, intriguing fantasy worlds, and a race against the clock to defeat evil. --Booklist Political, romantic, magical, timely, yet also traditionally appealing. --Kirkus

My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.