Galaxy Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Galaxy Bookshop
Register with Galaxy Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

Google Book Preview
Distress (#3 Subjective Cosmology Cycle)
— —
Greg Egan
Distress (#3 Subjective Cosmology Cycle) by Greg Egan at Galaxy Bookshop,

Distress (#3 Subjective Cosmology Cycle)

Greg Egan


Night Shade Books

Science Fiction » Science;
Science Fiction » Cybernetics;
Science Fiction » Robots;
Science Fiction » Future Society;
Science Fiction » Detective Sci-Fi;
Award Winners » Aurealis Award


352 pages

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
order qty:  
Add this item to my basket

It is the year 2055, and the battle of the sexes has seven combatants rather than two. The illusion of empathy has been dispensed with, and a few idealistic souls try to create a utopia with pirated technology. But a wired journalist, Andrew Worth, doesn't want any part of the pop Frankenscience regularly dished out to the masses. Burned-out after completing a documentary on controversial developments in biotechnology, he turns down a chance to report on a baffling new mental disorder known as Distress and instead takes an assignment covering the Einstein Centenary Conference on the artificial island of Stateless. There, a young South African physicist, Violet Mosala, is expected to unveil her candidate for a Theory of Everything. But the assignment is not the tropical respite Worth was expecting. Unfortunately academia's facade of civility is dangerously cracked with a seething maelstrom of plotting, assassination attempts, and rebellion, and Worth is dragged down into the nightmare. The world's only hope for survival lies in Violet Mosala's development of a final Theory of Everything, but whether it will lead to the total destruction of life as we know it or the complete remaking of the universe may be a risk too dangerous to take.

By:   Greg Egan
Imprint:   Night Shade Books
Country of Publication:   United States
Dimensions:   Height: 210mm,  Width: 140mm,  Spine: 28mm
Weight:   383g
ISBN:   9781597805414
ISBN 10:   1597805416
Series:   Subjective Cosmology Cycle
Pages:   352
Publication Date:   April 2015
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Greg Egan is a computer programmer, and the author of the acclaimed SF novels Permutation City, Diaspora, Teranesia, Quarantine, and the Orthogonal trilogy, all published by Night Shade Books. He has won the Hugo Award as well as the John W. Campbell Memorial Award. Egan's short fiction has been published in a variety of places, including Interzone, Asimov's, and Nature.

A dizzying intellectual adventure. --The New York Times

My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.