Galaxy Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Galaxy Bookshop
Register with Galaxy Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

facebook
Google Book Preview
Empress of Forever
— —
Max Gladstone
Empress of Forever by Max Gladstone at Galaxy Bookshop,

Empress of Forever

Max Gladstone


9780765395818

Tor U.K.


Science Fiction » Science;
Science Fiction » Robots;
Science Fiction » Future Society;
Science Fiction » Space Opera;
Science Fiction » Time Travel


Paperback

480 pages

$26.99
We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
order qty:  
Add this item to my basket

A wildly successful innovator to rival Steve Jobs or Elon Musk, Vivian Liao is prone to radical thinking, quick decision-making, and reckless action. On the eve of her greatest achievement, she's trying to outrun those who are trying to steal her success.

In the chilly darkness of a Boston server farm, Viv sets her ultimate plan into motion. A terrifying instant later, Vivian Liao is catapulted through space and time to a far future where she confronts a destiny stranger and more deadly than she could ever imagine.

The end of time is ruled by an ancient, powerful Empress who blesses or blasts entire planets with a single thought. Rebellion is literally impossible to consider--until Vivian arrives. Trapped between the Pride, a ravening horde of sentient machines, and a fanatical sect of warrior monks who call themselves the Mirrorfaith, Viv must rally a strange group of allies to confront the Empress and find a way back to the world and life she left behind.

A magnificent work of vivid imagination and universe-spanning action, Empress of Forever is a feminist Guardians of the Galaxy crossed with Star Wars and spiced with the sensibility and spirit of Iain M. Banks and William Gibson.

By:   Max Gladstone
Imprint:   Tor U.K.
Country of Publication:   United States
Dimensions:   Height: 233mm,  Width: 152mm,  Spine: 33mm
Weight:   496g
ISBN:   9780765395818
ISBN 10:   0765395819
Pages:   480
Publication Date:   June 2019
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

MAX GLADSTONE is a fencer, a fiddler, and a two-time finalist for the John W. Campbell Award. He is fluent in Mandarin and has taught English in China. He is the author of the Hugo Award-nominated Craft Sequence of novels, a game developer, and the showrunner for the fiction serial, Bookburners. A graduate of Yale, Max lives and writes in Somerville, Massachusetts. maxgladstone.com @maxgladstone


This feast for the imagination intelligently captures the complexities of a variety of relationships in an adrenaline-fueled series of escapades and will leave readers both exhausted and elated. --Publishers Weekly, starred review Empress of Forever [demonstrates] the strength, power, and originality at his command. A deep, cellular-level enchantment filled at every turn with curiosity and delight. --Peter Straub, New York Times bestselling author A classic space opera that impossibly becomes a thrilling dungeon crawl fantasy through a universe we've never seen before. So smart it makes me jealous. --Delilah S. Dawson, New York Times bestselling author A breakneck epic that explores a wildly, boldly imagined universe, filled with awe and wonder. --John Chu, Hugo Award-winning author Readers will be hooked from page one. Vivan Liao is the best kind of badass. Zanj is an epic trainwreck of death and destruction. The rest of the crew is too awesome for words. The whole book is filled with the kind of snark that I love and an endless majesty of stars. It broke me to pieces and then stitched me back together with golden thread. Simply glorious. -- K.B. Wagers, author of Behind the Throne This is galaxy-saving space opera with cool original settings and a unique band of adventurers that change each other for the better. It was a wild ride and I really enjoyed it. --Martha Wells, Nebula Award-winning author of The Murderbot Diaries Max Gladstone has recklessly folded space and time in order to project a galaxy sized adventure into this book-sized container. Take care when you open it. --Howard Tayler, Hugo Award-winning creator of Schlock Mercenary Places Gladstone firmly in the lineage of William Gibson and Neal Stephenson, and yet stands apart as something incredibly special. --Fran Wilde, Andre Norton Award-winning author Empress of Forever is a spaceship. It blasts through a vast sparkling cosmos, powered by myth and Gladstone's boundless imagination, crewed by characters you can't help but love. --Hannu Rajaniemi, author of The Quantum Thief A gloriously maximal space opera in the tradition of Banks and Rajaniemi--the diamond-bright adventure of five unlikely companions across a transhuman galaxy. -- Seth Dickinson, author of The Traitor Baru Cormorant

My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.