Galaxy Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Galaxy Bookshop
Register with Galaxy Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

facebook
Google Book Preview
Hollow Kingdom
— —
Kira Jane Buxton
Hollow Kingdom by Kira Jane Buxton at Galaxy Bookshop,

Hollow Kingdom

Kira Jane Buxton


9781472268662

Headline


Fantasy » Urban Fantasy;
Science Fiction » Post Holocaust Sci-Fi;
Fantasy » Zombies Fantasy;
Fantasy » Animals


Paperback

352 pages

$32.99
In stock
Ready to ship
order qty:  
Add this item to my basket

S.T. is a domesticated crow. He is a bird of simple pleasures: hanging out with his owner Big Jim, trading insults with Seattle's wild crows (those idiots) and enjoying the finest food humankind has to offer: Cheetos. But when Big Jim's eyeball falls out of his head, S.T. starts to feel like something isn't right. His most tried-and-true remedies - from beak-delivered beer to the slobbering affection of the loyal, but dim-witted, dog Dennis - fail to cure his owner. S.T. is left with no choice but to venture out into a frightening new world, where he discovers that the neighbours are devouring each other, and the local wildlife is abuzz with rumours of dangerous new predators roaming Seattle... Humanity's extinction has arrived, and the only one determined to save it is a foul-mouthed crow.

Readers love HOLLOW KINGDOM... '...wildly original and inventive, funny and profane' Laurie Frankel, author of THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS 'I love this book so much! I wanted to set it on fire while hugging it.' Jamie Ford, New York Times bestselling author of HOTEL ON THE CORNER OF BITTER AND SWEET

A humorous, big-hearted and boundlessly beautiful romp through the apocalypse and the world that comes after, where even a cowardly crow can become a hero. Perfect for fans of Isaac Marion's WARM BODIES.

'A thoroughly enjoyable account of the end of the world as we know it. THE SECRET LIFE OF PETS meets THE WALKING DEAD.' Karen Joy Fowler, PEN/Faulkner Award-winning author of WE ARE ALL COMPLETELY BESIDE OURSELVES

'It's transformative, poignant, and funny as hell. S.T. the irrepressible, cursing crow is my new favourite apocalyptic hero.' Helen Macdonald, New York Times bestselling author of H IS FOR HAWK

By:   Kira Jane Buxton
Imprint:   Headline
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 232mm,  Width: 150mm,  Spine: 28mm
Weight:   400g
ISBN:   9781472268662
ISBN 10:   1472268660
Pages:   352
Publication Date:   August 2019
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Kira Jane Buxton's writing has appeared in The New York Times, NewYorker.com, McSweeney's, The Rumpus, Huffington Post, and more. She calls the tropical utopia of Seattle home and spends her time with three cats, a dog, two crows, a charm of hummingbirds, and a husband.


If you've ever thought that humans were the ones in charge, Kira Jane Buxton's groundbreaking novel will have you thinking otherwise. Full of unforgettable humor, insight and beauty, Hollow Kingdom enriches our human experience by inhabiting the minds (and bellies!) of our non-human animal companions and reminding us that we're not alone here on this earth. * Ruth Ozeki, nationally bestselling author of A Tale for the Time Being * Everything you're hearing about Kira Jane Buxton's Hollow Kingdom--that it's wildly original and inventive, funny and profane--is wonderfully true. But even better, this book is timely, smart, movingly written, and beautifully concluded. * Laurie Frankel, author of This is How It Always Is * I love this book so much! I wanted to set it on fire while hugging it. I wanted to hasten the apocalypse just to see how my own pets fare in a more humane world without humans. Kira Jane Buxton's voice is fresh, like a newly dug grave, but so joyful and honest you'll laugh out loud, and then check to make sure you haven't lost an eyeball. Hollow Kingdom is a wildly original debut and a paean to my favorite city. * Jamie Ford, New York Times bestselling author of Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet * A plucky hero, a boisterous tale, startling prose and eerie events combine for a thoroughly enjoyable account of the end of the world as we know it. The Secret Life of Pets meets The Walking Dead. * Karen Joy Fowler, PEN/Faulkner Award-winning author of We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves * Hollow Kingdom is a nature book for our own age, an exuberant, glittering, hard-hitting mashup of Dawn of the Dead and The Incredible Journey. It's an adventure lit by strange myths, brand-names, television and smartphone screens, a fable with teeth and claws about animals making new lives amongst the ruins of humanity. It's transformative, poignant, and funny as hell. S.T. the irrepressible, cursing crow is my new favourite apocalyptic hero. * Helen Macdonald, New York Times bestselling author of H Is for Hawk *

My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.