Galaxy Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Galaxy Bookshop
Register with Galaxy Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

facebook
Google Book Preview
Library of Souls (#3 Miss Peregrine)
— —
Ransom Riggs
Library of Souls (#3 Miss Peregrine) by Ransom Riggs at Galaxy Bookshop,

Library of Souls (#3 Miss Peregrine)

Ransom Riggs


9781594749315

QUIRK BOOKS


Science Fiction » Time;
Science Fiction » Superpowers;
Fantasy » Magic;
Fantasy » Monsters Fantasy;
Fantasy » Shapeshifters Fantasy;
Young Adult » Young Adult Fantasy;
Young Adult » Young Adult Science Fiction


Paperback

464 pages

$19.99
In stock
Ready to ship
order qty:  
Add this item to my basket

The movie adaptation of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children is in theaters September 2016.

The New York Times #1 best-selling series a A boy with extraordinary powers. An army of deadly monsters. An epic battle for the future of peculiardom. a The adventure that began with Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children and continued in Hollow City comes to a thrilling conclusion with Library of Souls. As the story opens, sixteen-year-old Jacob discovers a powerful new ability, and soon he's diving through history to rescue his peculiar companions from a heavily guarded fortress. Accompanying Jacob on his journey are Emma Bloom, a girl with fire at her fingertips, and Addison MacHenry, a dog with a nose for sniffing out lost children. a They'll travel from modern-day London to the labyrinthine alleys of Devil's Acre, the most wretched slum in all of Victorian England. It's a place where the fate of peculiar children everywhere will be decided once and for all. Like its predecessors, Library of Souls blends thrilling fantasy with never-before-published vintage photography to create a one-of-a-kind reading experience.

From the Hardcover edition.

By:   Ransom Riggs
Imprint:   QUIRK BOOKS
Country of Publication:   United States
Volume:   3
Dimensions:   Height: 207mm,  Width: 134mm,  Spine: 26mm
Weight:   480g
ISBN:   9781594749315
ISBN 10:   1594749310
Series:   Miss Peregrine
Pages:   464
Publication Date:   May 2017
Audience:   Children/juvenile ,  English as a second language
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Ransom Riggs is the author of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children (Quirk, 2011), a New YorkaTimes best seller with more than 2 million copies sold, as well as its best-selling sequel, Hollow City (Quirk,a2013). He grew up in Florida but now makes his home in the land of peculiar children-Los Angeles. He was raised on a steady diet of ghost stories and British comedy, which probably explains the novels he writes. There's a nonzero chance he's in your house right now, watching you from underneath the bed. (Go ahead and check. We'll wait.) If not, you can always find him on Twitter @ransomriggs. From the Hardcover edition.


Oh, my birds, I love this book! I'm obsessed with Ransom Riggs' wildly creative world packed with heroic, heartwarming characters, supper baddies, and incredible settings like Devil's Acre and the Library of Souls. --Annalyse, Justine Magazine Fans of the trilogy's first two books will enjoy Library of Souls for its unique world, fast action, satisfying answers and a thorough tying up of loose ends. --Free Lance-Star Library of Souls will not disappoint. --Forces of Geek I was blown away by the way the haunting photographs were woven so seamlessly into the incredible plot. And Library of Souls has simply the most perfect ending. --Nikki, Justine Magazine The challenge Riggs faces in Library of Souls is to match the remarkably high standard set by the first two books in the series, either the mind-bending bafflements of the first book or the edge-of-your-seat action of the second. Riggs succeeds, delivering a thrilling conclusion to Jacob's trilogy. --Paste magazine Fans will easily lose themselves in this most peculiar tale of all. --Booklist Thrilling and satisfying. --School Library Journal Enthralling. --Children's Bookwatch I enjoyed reading this book so much, the cliched, 'I couldn't put it down, ' doesn't suffice. --Geeks of Doom Readers are sure to leap right in after the cliffhanger ending of Hollow City, and they won't be disappointed. --RT Book Review, 4 1/2 out of 5 stars Non-stop wonder. --Geeks of Doom Praise for Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children A tense, moving, and wondrously strange first novel. The photographs and text work together brilliantly to create an unforgettable story. --John Green, New York Times best-selling author of Looking for Alaska and Paper Towns Readers searching for the next Harry Potter may want to visit Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children. --CNN Riggs deftly moves between fantasy and reality, prose and photography to create an enchanting and at times positively terrifying story. --Associated Press I read all of the Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children books and I loved them. --Florence of Florence + The Machine [A] thrilling, Tim Burton-esque tale with haunting photographs. --USA Today Pop Candy With its X-Men: First Class-meets-time-travel story line, David Lynchian imagery, and rich, eerie detail, it's no wonder Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children has been snapped up by Twentieth Century Fox. B+ --Entertainment Weekly Peculiar' doesn't even begin to cover it. Riggs' chilling, wondrous novel is already headed to the movies. --People You'll love it if you want a good thriller for the summer. It's a mystery, and you'll race to solve it before Jacob figures it out for himself. --Seventeen This peculiar parable is pure perfection. --Justine magazine One of the coolest, creepiest YA books. --PopSugar It's an enjoyable, eccentric read, distinguished by well-developed characters, a believable Welsh setting, and some very creepy monsters. --Publishers Weekly An original work that defies categorization, this first novel should appeal to readers who like quirky fantasies. Riggs includes many vintage photographs that add a critical touch of the peculiar to his unusual tale. --Library Journal Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children is a wonderfully original and inventive book with colorful characters, a mysterious tale woven together with threads of historical relevance, and incorporating unforgettable vintage photographs which bring the story to life. --Geeks of Doom Brace yourself for the last 70 pages of relentless, squirm-in-your-chair action. I loved every minute of it. --Cleveland Plain Dealer Hands down, this is one of the best books of recent years...both creepy and terrifyingly delicious. --Forces of Geek Though technically a children's book, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children is more Grimm's than Disney, and Riggs images, dropped like bread crumbs, could lead audiences of any age happily down the path of its spellbinding tale. --Florida Times-Union In a time when so much summer entertainment seems to be more of the same, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children is a pleasant surprise--a story that is fresh and new, engrosses and grips, and provides enough clues so that the ending makes sense and seems thoughtful. --PopMatters A twisting tale of phenomenal children, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children is a book that both children and adults will love. --Romper Praise for Hollow City I was blown away...Hollow City is fantastic. --USAToday.com A worthy follow-up, and as addictive a read as the first. --Hypable Hollow City mixes spooky vintage photos and action-packed storytelling to continue the story of Jacob Portman and his fellow peculiars as they travel through time to war-torn London. --Dan Kois, Slate A perfect blend of creepiness and thoughtfulness. --PopMatters A stunning achievement... Hollow City is even richer than Riggs's imaginative debut, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children. --Boston Globe What makes the series soar, however, is not the world-building, as intriguing as it is, but the heartfelt intensity of the emotions. --Virginian-Pilot Ideal for fans of Neil Gaiman and Daniel Kraus, Hollow City blends fantasy and horror into a world that will engross readers and leave them eager for more. --Shelf Awareness for Readers A tasty adventure for any reader with an appetite for the...peculiar. --Kirkus Reviews New readers of the series will find this novel a treat...Fans of the first title will find this book a treasure. The only downside: waiting for the third installment to find out what happens to Jacob and his peculiar friends. --School Library Journal Riggs has created a fresh and original world in these Peregrine novels, with likable, quirky characters and a very readable style. --Library Journal Xpress Review Fans will be thrilled to know that the sequel to Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children is as hauntingly sinister as the first and is unequivocally worth the wait. It's a rare sequel that improves on the series' beginning... A must-read! --RT Book Reviews A great big jolt of fun. --LitReactor Fans will be pleased with this second volume and downright delighted to know that a third in the series is in the offering. --Booklist

My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.