Galaxy Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Galaxy Bookshop
Register with Galaxy Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

Google Book Preview
My Soul to Take (#1 Souls Screamers) by Rachel Vincent at Galaxy Bookshop,

My Soul to Take (#1 Souls Screamers)

Rachel Vincent



Paranormal Romance » Psychic;
Paranormal Romance » Young Adult


288 pages

In stock
Ready to ship
order qty:  
Add this item to my basket

She doesn't see dead people, but... She senses when someone near her is about to die. And when that happens, a force beyond her control compels her to scream bloody murder. Literally. Kaylee just wants to enjoy having caught the attention of the hottest guy in school. But a normal date is hard to come by when Nash seems to know more about her need to scream than she does. And when classmates start dropping dead for no apparent reason, only Kaylee knows who'll be next...

By:   Rachel Vincent
Imprint:   Harlequin
Country of Publication:   United States
Dimensions:   Height: 205mm,  Width: 139mm,  Spine: 20mm
Weight:   195g
ISBN:   9780373210039
ISBN 10:   0373210035
Series:   Souls Screamers
Pages:   288
Publication Date:   August 2009
Audience:   Young adult ,  Preschool (0-5)
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

My Soul to Take is an excellent young adult title that’s everything a young adult book should be- well paced, interesting and original.
Rachel Vincent also penned the highly successful American Werecats series, starting with Stray. These books are definitely NOT young adult material, however.
Rachel Vincent’s pace immerses the reader immediately- we meet Kaylee when she is sneaking to a nightclub with a fake ID and trying very hard to look older and cooler than she is. Suddenly, her powers kick in and we realize Kaylee isn’t what she seems. Teenagers usually don’t get the urge to scream when someone’s going to die- but Kaylee’s throat burns to do so…
Later when the girl shows up dead, Kaylee starts to learn more about what she is. I cannot give away what *exactly* she is, suffice to say that it’s an old legend re-done in a very cool way.
The only qualm readers may have is with Kaylee herself. She is not dumb- just a wee bit panicky and irrational at times- but this is explained by the powers that she is slowly coming to terms with.
Readers can also look forward to the character of Kaylee evolving over time. In the following six books, Kaylee will go almost to hell and back and discover all the answers she is looking for- except for a few mysteries reserved for the last book.
Beware though- do not start reading this fantastic series unless you’re ready for the ups and downs of a seven-book series. And the tone of the series never changes- the bitchy girls stay evil and bitchy and the grey characters remain grey. Despite this there are some fantastic surprises along the way. And the last book is nowhere near ready but the buzz on the internet is fierce! ~ Sofia

Your cart does not contain any items.