Galaxy Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Galaxy Bookshop
Register with Galaxy Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

facebook
Google Book Preview
Priest of Bones (#1 War for the Rose Throne)
— —
Peter McLean
Priest of Bones (#1 War for the Rose Throne) by Peter McLean at Galaxy Bookshop,

Priest of Bones (#1 War for the Rose Throne)

Peter McLean


9781787473492

Jo Fletcher Books


Fantasy » Dark Gritty Fantasy;
Fantasy » Mercenaries Fantasy;
Fantasy » Political Fantasy;
Nexus - Fantasy


Paperback

352 pages

$22.99
In stock
Ready to ship
order qty:  
Add this item to my basket

Double Reward Points
More info

'Charismatic and very more-ish' - Mark Lawrence, bestselling author of RED SISTER 'Sixty-five thousand battle-shocked, trained killers came home to no jobs, no food and the plague. What did Her Majesty think was going to happen?' Tomas Piety takes his duties seriously: as a soldier, as a priest of Our Lady of Eternal Sorrows and as a leader of men. He has come home from the war to reclaim his family business, to provide for his men and to ensure the horrors of Abingon can never happen in Ellinburg.

But things have changed: his crime empire has been stolen and the people of Ellinburg - his people - have run out of food and hope and places to hide. With his best friend Bloody Anne, his war-damaged brother Jochan and his new gang, the Pious Men, Tomas sets out to reclaim what was his.

And as Tomas is dragged into a web of political intrigue by the sinister Queen's Men, forced to work against the foreign infiltrators lurking in the backstreet taverns, brothels and gambling dens of the Stink, one thing becomes clear.

The war has just begun.

'Fans of Daniel Polansky, Mark Lawrence or, dare I say, BLACKWING will most appreciate this book' - Ed McDonald, author of BLACKWING (P)2018 Quercus Editions Limited

By:   Peter McLean
Imprint:   Jo Fletcher Books
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 196mm,  Width: 133mm,  Spine: 24mm
Weight:   250g
ISBN:   9781787473492
ISBN 10:   178747349X
Series:   War for the Rose Throne
Pages:   352
Publication Date:   May 2019
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Peter McLean was born near London and grew up in the Norwich alternative scene, alternating dingy nightclubs with studying martial arts and practical magic before settling to a career in corporate IT. His first novels, the Burned Man series, are noir urban fantasy.


A charismatic and very more-ish book with solid prose and a strong voice. Priest of Bones is a story of organised crime with shades of the Godfather. It sounds grim and dark . . . and it is . . . but our priest of bones is quite the humanitarian for a ruthless crime lord. With high-tempo action it's just very fun to read - Mark Lawrence, author of Red Sister Priest of Bones can be effectively summarised as gangsters in fantasyville . McLean manages to combine two of my most liked elements in fantasy - a quick-moving plot and characters with realistic relationships. Fans of Daniel Polansky, Mark Lawrence or, dare I say, Blackwing will most appreciate this book - Ed McDonald, author of Blackwing Peaky Blinders with swords - Barnes and Noble I found myself immediately sucked in to the grim and very dark world McLean has created . . . I loved this book and can't wait for the next one. - Sue Tingey, author of Marked Fresh and compelling . . . Mashing together soldiers, gangsters, magic and war into a heady mix that is a hulking big brother to The Lies of Locke Lamora, this is the first in an unmissable series - Anna Stephens, author of Godblind

My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.