Galaxy Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Galaxy Bookshop
Register with Galaxy Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

facebook
Google Book Preview
Shadows of the Short Days (#1 Hrimland)
— —
Alexander Dan Vilhjalmsson
Shadows of the Short Days (#1 Hrimland) by Alexander Dan Vilhjalmsson at Galaxy Bookshop,

Shadows of the Short Days (#1 Hrimland)

Alexander Dan Vilhjalmsson


9781473224117

Gollancz


Fantasy » Parallel Worlds;
Fantasy » Mythological Creatures, People & Places;
Fantasy » Magic


Paperback

320 pages

$32.99
In stock
Ready to ship
order qty:  
Add this item to my basket

A strikingly original Icelandic debut set in a strangely familiar alternate Reykjavik where wild and industrialised magic meet.

Perfect for fans of contemporary fantasy in the style of Lev Grossman's THE MAGICIANS or China Mieville's THE CITY & THE CITY S mundur the Mad, addict and sorcerer, has been expelled from the magical university, Svartiskoli, and can no longer study galdur, an esoteric source of magic. Obsessed with proving his peers wrong, he will stop at nothing to gain absolute power and knowledge, especially of that which is long forbidden.

Garun is an outcast: half-human, half-huldufolk, her very existence is a violation of dimensional boundaries, the ultimate taboo. A militant revolutionary and graffiti artist, recklessly dismissive of the status quo, she will do anything to achieve a just society, including spark a revolution. Even if she has to do it alone.

This is a tale of revolution set in a twisted version of Reykjavik fuelled by industrialised magic and populated by humans, interdimensional exiles, otherworldly creatures, psychoactive graffiti and demonic familiars.

By:   Alexander Dan Vilhjalmsson
Imprint:   Gollancz
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 232mm,  Width: 152mm,  Spine: 44mm
Weight:   640g
ISBN:   9781473224117
ISBN 10:   147322411X
Series:   Hrimland
Pages:   320
Publication Date:   July 2019
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Alexander Dan Vilhjalmsson is an Icelandic author who lives in Reykjavik. Shadows of the Short Days is his first novel. He writes in both Icelandic and English and is the founder and editorof Iceland's first SFF magazine, Furousogur (Weird Stories). Alexander is also the vocalist and lyricist for Icelandic black metal band Carpe Noctem.


Norse mythology like you've never seen it before, set in a Reykjavik that you never knew existed - Shadows of the Short Days is a new breed of fantasy - Edward Cox, author of The Relic Guild A marvellous, quirky, original fantasy novel set in a magical steampunk version of Reykjavik: teeming with magic, dense with detail and with characters that not only leap off the page, but poke you in the eye as they do. Highly recommended. - Joanne Harris, Sunday Times bestselling author Shadows of the Short Days is fresh and exciting: full of dark, demonic, revolutionary shenanigans - Peter Newman, author of The Vagrant A masterfully crafted dark tale . . . one of the most ambitious, intense, original and thrilling debuts I've read in a long time - Grimdark Magazine Shadows of the Short Days is revolutionary fantasy fresher than a dip in a glacial stream. Definitely one for fans of Neil Gaiman and China Mieville - Gavin Smith, author of The Bastard Legion

My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.