Galaxy Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Galaxy Bookshop
Register with Galaxy Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

facebook
Google Book Preview
The Cloven (#3 Vorrh Trilogy)
— —
Brian Catling
The Cloven (#3 Vorrh Trilogy) by Brian Catling at Galaxy Bookshop,

The Cloven (#3 Vorrh Trilogy)

Brian Catling


9781473636415

Coronet


Fantasy » Mythological Creatures, People & Places;
Horror » Killer Animals/Plants;
Science Fiction » Robots


Paperback

448 pages

$22.99
In stock
Ready to ship
order qty:  
Add this item to my basket

In the tradition of China Mieville, Michael Moorcock and Alasdair Gray, B. Catling's The Vorrh is literary dark fantasy which wilfully ignores boundaries, crossing over into surrealism, magic-realism, horror and steampunk.

The Cloven is the final book in the Vorrh trilogy.

By:   Brian Catling
Imprint:   Coronet
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 196mm,  Width: 130mm,  Spine: 30mm
Weight:   312g
ISBN:   9781473636415
ISBN 10:   1473636418
Series:   Vorrh Trilogy
Pages:   448
Publication Date:   May 2019
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Brian Catling (born in London, 1948) is an English sculptor, poet, novelist, film maker and performance artist.He was educated at North East London Polytechnic and the Royal College of Art. He now holds the post of Professor of Fine Art at The Ruskin School of Drawing and Fine Art, Oxford and is a fellow of Linacre College. He has been exhibiting his work internationally since the 1970s. Some of his most notable works and performances include: Quill Two at Matt's Gallery, Dilston Grove in 2011, Antix at Matt's Gallery in 2006, a commissoned memorial to the Site of Execution, Tower of London in 2007, Vanished! A Video Seance made with screenwriter Tony Grisoni in 1999 and Cyclops at South London Gallery 1996. In 2001 he co founded the international performance collective WiTW. As a writer he has published poetic works, including one compendium A Court of Miracles in 2009. His first prose book Bobby Awl was published in 2007.


When they write the history of 21st century literature, I am sure that this series of books will be more than prominent. * Scotland on Sunday * Although comparisons to Michael Moorcock and Mervyn Peake will inevitably be drawn, The Vorrh offers something more...It reminded me of Odilon Redon: a combination of the luminous, the luxurious, monstrous flora and dark wit * TLS * The English language has given birth to some great works of unbounded vision and imagination, and here is another one... It's a very sophisticated and subtle exploration of the decadent, primitive and the mythical. Many books are said to be like nothing else, and aren't, but Brian Catling's really is. * Philip Pullman * There are not many books that rearrange the molecules of your being, turning your eyes inside out. The Vorrh, this saturnine post-traumatic testament, is one of them. A work of genius. * Iain Sinclair * I really loved Brian Catling's The Vorrh. It's a hot storm of a novel bursting with art and history, sex and nature. A visionary fantasy epic that is incredibly fun to read. Wildly different, but no less remarkable. * Max Porter * Brian Catling is simply a genius. His writing is so extraordinary it hurts, it makes me realize how little imagination I have. * Terry Gilliam * In Brian Catling's phosphorescent masterpiece The Vorrh we have one of the most original and stunningworks of fantasy that has ever been my privilege to read, a brilliant and sustained piece of invention which establishes a benchmark not just for imaginative writing but for the human imagination in itself. After investigating other worlds of fantasy, The Vorrh is like a first experience of the ocean. Read this book, and marvel. * Alan Moore * Praise for The Vorrh Trilogy * : *

My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.