Galaxy Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Galaxy Bookshop
Register with Galaxy Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

facebook
Google Book Preview
The Game Masters of Garden Place
— —
Denis Markell
The Game Masters of Garden Place by Denis Markell at Galaxy Bookshop,

The Game Masters of Garden Place

Denis Markell


9781101931943

Rand


Fantasy » Parallel Worlds;
Fantasy » Magic;
Fantasy » Swords and Slaying;
Young Adult » Young Adult Fantasy


Paperback

304 pages

$12.99
In stock
Ready to ship
order qty:  
Add this item to my basket

What if your favorite fantasy game characters showed up on your doorstep IRL?

Sixth graders Ralph, Jojo, Noel, Persephone, and Cammi are hooked on fantasy tabletop role-playing games. When they somehow manage to summon their characters to Ralph's house, things take a truly magical turn!

The five are soon racing around town on a wild adventure that tests their both their RPG skills and their friendship. Will Ralph and crew be able to keep their characters out of trouble? Trying to convince a sticky-fingered halfling rogue not to pickpocket or a six-foot-five barbarian woman that you don't always have to solve conflicts with a two-handed broadsword is hard enough. How will they ever send the adventurers back to their mystical realm?

Epic...for young fans of Stranger Things. --SLJ An exciting new adventure exploring friendship... with often humorous commentary on social issues. --Booklist Both funny and heartfelt... The Game Masters of Garden Place has as much to offer diehard fans as it does newcomers to fantasy role-playing. --Bulletin

By:   Denis Markell
Imprint:   Rand
Country of Publication:   United States
Dimensions:   Height: 194mm,  Width: 132mm,  Spine: 18mm
Weight:   213g
ISBN:   9781101931943
ISBN 10:   1101931949
Pages:   304
Publication Date:   July 2019
Recommended Age:   From 10 years
Audience:   Children/juvenile ,  English as a second language
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Denis Markell's first novel for kids was Click Here To Start. His second book is based on his tween son's Dungeons & Dragons game (well, except the part where the characters come to life). . . . He lives in a small apartment in Brooklyn with his wife, illustrator Melissa Iwai, and his son. You can find him on Twitter at @DenisMarkell, and yes, he'd be happy to do a Skype author visit for your kid's class.


Praise for THE GAME MASTERS OF GARDEN PLACE: An epic adventure...for young fans of Stranger Things. --SLJ An exciting new adventure exploring friendship...[with] often humorous commentary on social issues. --Booklist Both funny and heartfelt...[it's] a story that has as much to offer diehard fans as it does newcomers to fantasy role-playing. --Bulletin Honors and Praise for Denis Markell's CLICK HERE TO START A Junior Library Guild Selection Humor, believable characters, and adventure...keeps readers in suspense to the end. A winner for mystery enthusiasts. --Kirkus Reviews In this clever debut, Markell takes readers on a clue-filled adventure...[and] maintains an energetic, entertaining balance of character-driven narrative and tricky challenges. --Publishers Weekly Markell's highly entertaining debut novel...is a well-paced read with fully realized and likable characters, ...[and] should have strong appeal to gamers, fans of video game-based stories, and reluctant readers. --School Library Journal This book will appeal to a wide audience. Readers who enjoyed Schreiber's Game Over, Pete Watson will enjoy the video game component; fans of Fitzgerald's Under the Egg will enjoy reading more about the Monuments Men; detective story aficionados will revel in the inclusion of The Maltese Falcon story. This is a great book to hand to just about any middle grade reader. --YA Books Central

My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.