Galaxy Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Galaxy Bookshop
Register with Galaxy Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

facebook
Google Book Preview
Gentlemans Guide to Vice and Virtue (#1 Guide)
— —
Mackenzi Lee
Gentlemans Guide to Vice and Virtue (#1 Guide) by Mackenzi Lee at Galaxy Bookshop,

Gentlemans Guide to Vice and Virtue (#1 Guide)

Mackenzi Lee


9780062382818

Katherine Tegen Books


Fantasy » Europe;
Fantasy » Young Adult;
Romance » Historical;
Young Adult » Young Adult Fantasy;
Romance » LGBT


Paperback

544 pages

$19.99
We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
order qty:  
Add this item to my basket

KIRKUS PRIZE NOMINEE ONE OF NPR'S BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR NEW YORK PUBLIC LIBRARY BEST BOOK FOR TEENS NEIBA NEW ENGLAND YOUNG ADULT BOOK AWARD WINNER Witty, romantic, and irresistible from the first line to the last, The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue is the unforgettable escapade of Lord Henry Monty Montague, a charming young scoundrel who fully expects to carouse his way through his Grand Tour. However, Monty's plan for one last hedonistic hurrah with his best friend and secret crush, Percy, quickly turns into a harrowing manhunt across eighteenth-century Europe. Truly a novel that's meant to be savored and not to be missed.

By:   Mackenzi Lee
Imprint:   Katherine Tegen Books
Country of Publication:   United States
Dimensions:   Height: 203mm,  Width: 135mm,  Spine: 31mm
Weight:   383g
ISBN:   9780062382818
ISBN 10:   0062382810
Series:   Guide
Pages:   544
Publication Date:   September 2018
Recommended Age:   From 13 years
Audience:   Young adult ,  Preschool (0-5)
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active


Mackenzi Lee (This Monstrous Thing) combines her knowledge of European history with a contemporary, comic sensibility to create an over-the-top romantic adventure complete with cliff-hanging chapter endings and sometimes outrageous narration. Monty is a licentious, flawed and engaging 18th-century hero.--Shelf Awareness (starred review) Monty is pitch-perfect as a yearning, self-destructive, oblivious jerk of a hero who inspires equal parts sympathy, frustration, and adoration from reader. A genre tribute, satire, and exemplar in one. --The Horn Book A rollicking ride that also turns a keen eye to issues like class, racism, homosexuality, and identity. --Brightly.com Careening from fete to fiasco on a Grand Tour of 18th century Europe, THE GENTLEMEN'S GUIDE TO VICE AND VIRTUE is a dizzying, dazzling, and roguishly romantic romp. This book makes me want to unrequite my own love so I can requite him all over again. --Heidi Heilig, author of THE GIRL FROM EVERYWHERE Don't read this book unless you like adventure, hijinks, and forbidden romance, and if you do, then read it twice. --Stacey Lee, author of THE SECRET OF A HEART NOTE and UNDER A PAINTED SKY An outrageously fun, witty, fascinating, and romantic adventure, starring a memorable trio I'd happily travel with for ages. Lee is a definite force in diverse historical YA. --Dahlia Adler, founder of LGBTQ Reads and author of UNDER THE LIGHTS The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue is a Grand Tour all its own. Hilarious and romantic, adventurous and scandalous, Monty's adventures are just as delightful as Monty himself. I adored this book! --Rachel Hawkins, author of the Rebel Belle series Sweet, smart, and powerful, Gentleman's Guide tackles timely topics that will resonate profoundly with readers--all wrapped up in a truly epic road trip. Prepare to laugh, gasp, swoon, and cheer. --Claire Legrand, author of the Winterspell series A delightful romp of a road-trip through eighteenth century Europe, packed with witty dialog, razor-sharp pacing, and the perfect amount of swoon. You should abso-bloody-lutely read this book. --Erin Bowman, author of VENGEANCE ROAD Vice has never been more charming and virtue never more daring than in Mackenzie Lee's superbly written globetrotting adventure. Not since Hamilton the musical has the 18th century been this much fun. --Amy Cherrix, Malaprop's Bookstore An incomparably delightful historical romp. I was swept away by Monty's incorrigible voice from the very first page, and the rest of this confident adventure tale did not disappoint. Lee's sophomore novel has heart, depth, and an abundance of wisecracks from a protagonist you can't help but adore. --Rebecca Wells, Porter Square Books Simultaneously harrowing and hilarious, everything about this book from the serious questions posed about sexuality, chronic illness, and social inequality to the extraordinary journey Monty, his best friend, and his sister find themselves on make Mackenzi Lee's latest the kind of book you'd be a fool to miss. --Gaby Salpeter, Books of Wonder Monty and Percy are insanely shippable from page one, and quickly became one of my favorite YA couples of all time. --Rachel Strolle, Anderson's Bookshop The John Hughes of queer 18th century adventure novels with an alchemical heart at its center. Lee perfectly captures teen humor and angst. I can't wait to see what she writes next! --Alsace Walentine, Tombolo Books I can't wait to get this book in my store--I know my customers looking for historical fiction and LGBTQ stories will adore GENTLEMAN'S GUIDE as much as I have! --Clarissa Hadge, Trident Booksellers Filled with highwaymen, pirates, and heart pounding exploits of a romantic nature, this is the summer road-trip adventure you've been waiting for. --Marika McCoola, Porter Square Books With roguish charm, sly wit, and tender heart, THE GENTLEMAN'S GUIDE TO VICE AND VIRTUE is a shameless flirt of a novel. If Monty and Percy hadn't already stolen my heart, I would surrender it to them gladly. --Wendy Darling, The Midnight Garden Wonderfully refreshing. A delightful, thoughtful, hilarious read. --Maggie Kane, Between the Covers An adventurous romp through 18th-century Europe with a trio of unforgettable characters. Lee weaves together the fun and the fantastical with a conversation on historical privilege that will resonate with modern readers. Perfect for fans of LA Meyer's Bloody Jack series. Expect to fall in love with this book! --Nicole Brinkley, Oblong Books An elegant, colorful, swashbuckling good time of a read and a beautiful addition to the LGBTQ+ genre. This is a great novel for upper YA readers and a great adult cross-over title. I definitely have a book hangover after finishing this gem.--Amanda Zirn, Bethany Beach Books A Marauder's Map of the heart, full of pirates, highwaymen, humor and romance. Mischief managed brilliantly! --Chris Abouzeid, Co-Owner, Belmont Books If you've ever mentally shouted 'NOW KISS' at a pair of fictional male best friends, this is the book for you. --NPR Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue is the queer teen historical you didn't know was missing from your life. ( Best Queer Books to Celebrate Pride 2017 )--Teen Vogue A gloriously swashbuckling affair. --Publishers Weekly (starred review) This is a witty, romantic, and exceedingly smart look at discovering one's place in the world. A stunning powerhouse of a story for every collection. --School Library Journal (starred review) Tongue-in-cheek, wildly entertaining, and anachronistic in only the most delightful ways, this is a gleeful romp through history. Monty is a hero worthy of Oscar Wilde. --Booklist (starred review) The book's exquisite, bygone meter and vernacular sit comfortably on a contemporary shelf. And the friction of racism, tyrannical entitled politicians, and misguided disapproval of homosexuality also have a relevance rooted in current culture's xeno- and homophobia. Austen, Wilde, and Indiana Jones converge in this deliciously anachronistic bonbon. --Kirkus Reviews (starred review)


  • Commended for Stonewall Book Award (Children/Young Adult) 2018
My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.