Galaxy Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Galaxy Bookshop
Register with Galaxy Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

facebook
Google Book Preview
The Grey Bastards (#1 Lot Lands)
— —
Jonathan French
The Grey Bastards (#1 Lot Lands) by Jonathan French at Galaxy Bookshop,

The Grey Bastards (#1 Lot Lands)

Jonathan French


9780356511641

Orbit Books


Fantasy » Epic Fantasy;
Fantasy » Sword & Sorcery;
Fantasy » Humorous;
Fantasy » Mythological Creatures, People & Places;
Fantasy » Mercenaries


Paperback

432 pages

$19.99
In stock
Ready to ship
order qty:  
Add this item to my basket

Jackal is proud to be a Grey Bastard, member of a sworn brotherhood of half-orcs. Unloved and unwanted in civilized society, the Bastards eke out a hard life in the desolate no-man's-land called the Lots, protecting frail and noble human civilization from invading bands of vicious full-blooded orcs.

But as Jackal is soon to learn, his pride may be misplaced. Because a dark secret lies at the heart of the Bastards' existence - one that reveals a horrifying truth behind humanity's tenuous peace with the orcs, and exposes a grave danger on the horizon.

On the heels of the ultimate betrayal, Jackal must scramble to stop a devastating invasion - even as he wonders where his true loyalties lie.

A standout adventure fantasy debut that's down, dirty and damn good fun - perfect for fans of Joe Abercombie, Mark Lawrence, Markus Heitz's Dwarves series and Stan Nicholl's Orcs series.

By:   Jonathan French
Imprint:   Orbit Books
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 200mm,  Width: 133mm,  Spine: 29mm
Weight:   310g
ISBN:   9780356511641
ISBN 10:   0356511642
Series:   The Lot Lands
Pages:   432
Publication Date:   June 2018
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Jonathan French resides in Atlanta with his wife, son, and cat. He is a devoted reader of comic books, an expert thrower of oddly-shaped dice and a serial con attendee.


A filthy, charismatic and frankly excellent read - Mark Lawrence The Grey Bastards dragged me in immediately. A bloody good tale of battles, intrigue, betrayal, duty and frickin' war pigs - Brian McClellan A gritty adventure with a fantastic, foul-mouthed voice and filthy, lovable characters in a wonderfully original world of half-orcs on giant hogs. Fans of Abercrombie's THE FIRST LAW or the soldierly banter of Erikson's MALAZAN BOOK OF THE FALLEN will like this a lot - Django Wexler Jonathan French has to be lauded for his plot ingenuity, bawdry charm and vicious characters. The Grey Bastards has instantaneously catapulted him into my must-read list - Fantasy Book Critic I'd like to raise a tankard to The Grey Bastards' brilliance - Fantasy Faction French flips the fantasy script as the monsters become the good guys, fueling an action-packed, sneakily smart adventure. Half-orc and all badass, Jackal is a hero you won't soon forget - Scott Sigler, New York Times bestselling author of Alive and Infected

My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.