Galaxy Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Galaxy Bookshop
Register with Galaxy Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

Google Book Preview
The Ninth Rain (#1 Winnowing Flame Trilogy)
— —
Jen Williams
The Ninth Rain (#1 Winnowing Flame Trilogy) by Jen Williams at Galaxy Bookshop,

The Ninth Rain (#1 Winnowing Flame Trilogy)

Jen Williams



Fantasy » Magic;
Fantasy » Questing & Adventure;
Fantasy » Political Fantasy;
Award Winners » British Fantasy Award


544 pages

In stock
Ready to ship
order qty:  
Add this item to my basket

The great city of Ebora once glittered with gold. Now its streets are stalked by wolves. Tormalin the Oathless has no taste for sitting around waiting to die while the realm of his storied ancestors falls to pieces - talk about a guilt trip. Better to be amongst the living, where there are taverns full of women and wine.When eccentric explorer, Lady Vincenza 'Vintage' de Grazon, offers him employment, he sees an easy way out. Even when they are joined by a fugitive witch with a tendency to set things on fire, the prospect of facing down monsters and retrieving ancient artefacts is preferable to the abomination he left behind.But not everyone is willing to let the Eboran empire collapse, and the adventurers are quickly drawn into a tangled conspiracy of magic and war. For the Jure'lia are coming, and the Ninth Rain must fall...

By:   Jen Williams
Imprint:   Headline
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Volume:   1
Dimensions:   Height: 203mm,  Width: 170mm,  Spine: 33mm
Weight:   378g
ISBN:   9781472235183
ISBN 10:   1472235185
Series:   Winnowing Flame Trilogy
Pages:   544
Publication Date:   September 2017
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

JEN WILLIAMS started writing about pirates and dragons as a young girl and hasn't ever stopped. Her short stories have featured in numerous anthologies and her debut novel, The Copper Promise, was published in 2014 to huge acclaim. Jen was nominated in the Best Newcomer category at the 2015 British Fantasy Awards and her second novel, The Iron Ghost, was shortlisted for the 2016 British Fantasy Awards Novel of the Year award. All novels in the Copper Cat Trilogy, The Copper Promise, The Iron Ghost, and The Silver Tide, are available from Headline in the UK. The Ninth Rain is the first electrifying new novel of The Winnowing Flame Trilogy. Jen lives in London with her partner and their cat.

Absolutely phenomenal fantasy -- Adrian Tchaikovsky Williams portrays her characters as flawed but humane, propels the plot with expert pace, and excels at eldritch world-building Guardian There is so much to praise about The Ninth Rain: the worldbuilding is top-notch, the plot is gripping and the characters just get better and better. A sublime read SFX Yet again, Williams has created an addictive and coherent fantasy world filled with all sorts of deliciously interesting things within it... This is fantasy adventure at its very best. Go check it out Starburst The Ninth Rain is a fast-paced and vibrant fantasy romp through a new world, full of people you want to spend time with and enemies you'd happily run from SciFiNow Jen Williams takes us on another great adventure. Fresh, engaging, and full of heart -- Peter Newman A cracking story that grips you by the heart and doesn't let go -- Edward Cox

My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.