Galaxy Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Galaxy Bookshop
Register with Galaxy Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

facebook
Google Book Preview
Psychology of Time Travel
— —
Kate Mascarenhas
Psychology of Time Travel by Kate Mascarenhas at Galaxy Bookshop,

Psychology of Time Travel

Kate Mascarenhas


9781683319443

CROOKED LANE BOOKS


Fantasy » Cultural & Period Fantasy;
Science Fiction » Science;
Science Fiction » Time Travel;
Science Fiction » Detective Sci-Fi;
Horror » Thriller Horror


Hardback

336 pages

$49.95
In stock
Ready to ship
order qty:  
Add this item to my basket

A fascinating meditation on the many ways traveling through time can change a person. --HelloGiggles This genre-bending, time-bending debut will appeal to fans of Doctor Who, dystopian fiction, and life's great joy: friend groups. --Refinery29 A fun and twisty read. --MindBodyGreen Perfect for fans of Naomi Alderman's The Power and Margot Lee Shetterly's Hidden Figures comes The Psychology of Time Travel, a mind-bending, time-travel debut.

In 1967, four female scientists worked together to build the world's first time machine. But just as they are about to debut their creation, one of them suffers a breakdown, putting the whole project--and future of time travel--in jeopardy. To protect their invention, one member is exiled from the team--erasing her contributions from history.

Fifty years later, time travel is a big business. Twenty-something Ruby Rebello knows her beloved grandmother, Granny Bee, was one of the pioneers, though no one will tell her more. But when Bee receives a mysterious newspaper clipping from the future reporting the murder of an unidentified woman, Ruby becomes obsessed: could it be Bee? Who would want her dead? And most importantly of all: can her murder be stopped?

Traversing the decades and told from alternating perspectives, The Psychology of Time Travel introduces a fabulous new voice in fiction and a new must-read for fans of speculative fiction and women's fiction alike.

By:   Kate Mascarenhas
Imprint:   CROOKED LANE BOOKS
Dimensions:   Height: 213mm,  Width: 142mm,  Spine: 36mm
Weight:   408g
ISBN:   9781683319443
ISBN 10:   1683319443
Pages:   336
Publication Date:   February 2019
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Hardback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Kate Mascarenhas is a half-Irish, half-Seychellois midlander. Since 2017, Kate has been a chartered psychologist. Before that she worked as a copywriter, a dollhouse maker, and a bookbinder. She lives with her husband in a small terraced house which she is slowly filling with Sindy dolls. This is her first novel.


Praise for The Psychology of Time Travel [A] superb debut novel... The Psychology of Time Travel heralds the arrival of a master storyteller. --BookPage Intricately plotted . . . The story unfolds in a captivating way, and fascinating suggestions are made about the effects of time travel. --Publisher's Weekly With plenty of twists and turns, The Psychology of Time Travel is a provocative thought experiment. --Foreword Reviews A dazzling genre-defying debut . . . witty, inventive and unflashily wise about human hearts; Mascarenhas's future promises to be an exciting one. --The Guardian Mascarenhas' writing is clear and strong, making this a good choice for readers who want to be immersed in a story. --Booklist The narrative moves back and forth through time with its almost all-female cast meeting their future and past selves in an intriguing, multi-layered mystery that is ingeniously plotted. --The Daily Mail [A] compelling, confident debut...wrapping the psychological exploration around a diverse, real set of characters and a thrilling murder mystery. --SFX Magazine, 4 1/2 stars A surprising, mysterious, and sometimes unsettling novel, threaded with off-kilter ideas and wonderful insights. --Elan Mastai, author of All Our Wrong Todays An elegant braid of a narrative, delivering queer joy and time-traveling women . . . Fans of Jo Walton will feel very much at home in this gorgeous, nested tale. --Meg Elison, author of The Book of the Unnamed Midwife The Psychology of Time Travel is the most imaginative thriller I've read in ages captivating, delightful, and thoroughly original. Ms. Mascarenhas' genius is in patiently exploring the small, fascinating details of a world in which time travel is possible . . . an all-around wonderful novel. --Jennie Melamed, author of Gather the Daughters Kate Mascarenhas deftly weaves an innovative tale with The Psychology of Time Travel--part mystery; part time travel. Entirely entertaining! --Julie McElwain, author of A Murder In Time

My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.