Galaxy Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Galaxy Bookshop
Register with Galaxy Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

facebook
Google Book Preview
Sacrifice Box
— —
Martin Stewart
Sacrifice Box by Martin Stewart at Galaxy Bookshop,

Sacrifice Box

Martin Stewart


9780141371610

Puffin


Horror » Crime ;
Horror » Young Adult;
Horror » Thriller;
Young Adult » Young Adult Horror


Paperback

368 pages

$17.99
In stock
Ready to ship
order qty:  
Add this item to my basket

Sep, Arkle, Mack, Lamb and Hadley- five friends thrown together one hot, sultry summer. When they discover an ancient stone box hidden in the forest, they decide to each make a sacrifice- something special to them, committed to the box for ever. And they make a pact- they will never return to the box at night; they'll never visit it alone; and they'll never take back their offerings.

Four years later, the gang have drifted apart. Then a series of strange and terrifying events take place, and Sep and his friends understand that one of them has broken the pact.

As their sacrifices haunt them with increased violence and hunger, they realise that they are not the first children to have found the box in their town's history. And ultimately, the box may want the greatest sacrifice of all- one of them.

By:   Martin Stewart
Imprint:   Puffin
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 198mm,  Width: 129mm,  Spine: 24mm
Weight:   277g
ISBN:   9780141371610
ISBN 10:   0141371617
Pages:   368
Publication Date:   February 2018
Recommended Age:   From 12
Audience:   Young adult ,  Preschool (0-5)
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Martin Stewart has previously worked as a recycling technician, university lecturer, barman, golf caddy, and English teacher. Having written his first book on Post-Its as an eight year-old, it was his time back in the classroom that made him understand the unique joy of writing for younger readers. A native of Glasgow, where he still lives, he enjoys buying books to feed his to-be-read pile, and combining the city's urban splendour with walks on the beaches of Scotland's west coast. Martin's first novel, Riverkeep, was longlisted for the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize. Follow him on Twitter: @martinjstewart.


An atmospheric coming-of-age story with brilliantly executed elements of horror and comic relief * Publishers Weekly * Stewart is a master at weaving vivid and visceral images in the minds of his readers and this book has no shortage of truly terrifying moments that will stay with you long after you have finished it. Definitely one to read with the lights on and far away from any childhood toys * Scotsman * From the delightfully strange imagination of Scottish writer Martin Stewart comes a creepy and engrossing horror story * Buzzfeed * The comparisons to Stranger Things are apt and well deserved. This is one of the most original and unique books I've ever read -- Katherine Webber, author of Wing Jones An expertly written horror laced through with joyful comedy, Martin Stewart's follow-up to the award winning Riverkeep is a suspenseful and gruesome tale of friendship, family and faith - perfect for fans of Stranger Things or Stephen King * Scottish Booktrust * Moody and atmospheric, with sardonic humor; a meaty slice of horror * Kirkus Reviews * Stewart is masterful. He weaves a chilling, supernatural plot with a playfulness and brings the darkest chapters back from the edge. I suspect Stephen King would be impressed * Bookality *

My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.