Galaxy Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Galaxy Bookshop
Register with Galaxy Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

facebook
Google Book Preview
The Strange Case of the Alchemists Daughter (#1 Mary Jekyll)
— —
Theodora Goss
The Strange Case of the Alchemists Daughter (#1 Mary Jekyll) by Theodora Goss at Galaxy Bookshop,

The Strange Case of the Alchemists Daughter (#1 Mary Jekyll)

Theodora Goss


9781481466516

SAGA PR


Fantasy » Urban Fantasy;
Fantasy » Detective;
Horror » Medical;
Horror » Undead;
Fantasy » Monsters


Paperback

$24.99
In stock
Ready to ship
order qty:  
Add this item to my basket

Based on some of literature’s horror and science fiction classics, this "tour de force of reclaiming the narrative, executed with impressive wit and insight" (Publishers Weekly, starred review) debut is the story of a remarkable group of women who come together to solve the mystery of a series of gruesome murders - and the bigger mystery of their own origins.

Mary Jekyll, alone and penniless following her parents’ death, is curious about the secrets of her father's mysterious past. One clue in particular hints that Edward Hyde, her father's former friend and a murderer, may be nearby, and there is a reward for information leading to his capture... a reward that would solve all of her immediate financial woes.

But her hunt leads her to Hyde’s daughter, Diana, a feral child left to be raised by nuns. With the assistance of Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson, Mary continues her search for the elusive Hyde, and soon befriends more women, all of whom have been created through terrifying experimentation: Beatrice Rappaccini, Catherin Moreau, and Justine Frankenstein.

When their investigations lead them to the discovery of a secret society of immoral and power-crazed scientists, the horrors of their past return. Now it is up to the monsters to finally triumph over the monstrous.

By:   Theodora Goss
Imprint:   SAGA PR
Country of Publication:   United States
Edition:   Reprint ed.
Dimensions:   Height: 210mm,  Width: 140mm,  Spine: 28mm
Weight:   331g
ISBN:   9781481466516
ISBN 10:   1481466518
Series:   Mary Jekyll
Publication Date:   April 2018
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active


Theodora Goss is a wonder. Her elegance, wit and powerful voice pull no punches. A brilliant, deeply felt, and nimble book. --Catherynne M. Valente, Hugo-Award winning author An enormously accomplished delight of a book...a brilliant novel. --Liz Bourke Theodora Goss' The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter provides a new and altogether mesmerizing revelation for fans of Watson & Holmes, Van Helsing, Jeckyll & Hyde, and Victor Frankenstein: until now, you've only heard half the story. Goss' deft, poetic interweaving of edge-of-the-seat adventure with the artful voices of her characters creates a matryoshka doll of hidden Gothic fiction in the best sense. The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter proves the point that behind every evil genius you'll find a team of fantastic women working to set things right. As if Charlie's Angels, as written by Mary Shelley, took over the Bluestocking Society, with bonus well-mannered explosions. An utterly delightful, transformative read. --Fran Wilde, award-winning author of Updraft, Cloudbound, and Horizon Theodora Goss' splendid debut novel is a whipsmart look at the truths hiding in the stories - Jekyll and Hyde, Frankenstein, and others - that you might think you know. Full of bravery, adventures, monsters, and sisters, The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter is a rich delight. I loved it, and I can't wait to read the next book. --Kat Howard, author of ROSES AND ROT

My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.