Galaxy Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Galaxy Bookshop
Register with Galaxy Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

facebook
Google Book Preview
Your One and Only
— —
Adrianne Finlay
Your One and Only by Adrianne Finlay at Galaxy Bookshop,

Your One and Only

Adrianne Finlay


9781328595881

Houghton Mifflin


Science Fiction » Science;
Science Fiction » Cloning;
Science Fiction » Dystopia;
Young Adult » Young Adult Science Fiction


Paperback

320 pages

$19.99
We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
order qty:  
Add this item to my basket

Like the works of Ursula K. Le Guin (Kirkus, starred review), Your One & Only is a powerful YA debut set in the near future about the only human boy in a world populated by 9 clone models and the girl who falls in love with him. Now in paperback with a new cover! Jack is a walking fossil. The only human among a sea of clones. It's been hundreds of years since humanity died off in the slow plague, leaving the clones behind to carry on human existence. Over time they've perfected their genes, moving further away from the imperfections of humanity. But if they really are perfect, why did they create Jack? While Jack longs for acceptance, Althea-310 struggles with the feeling that she's different from her sisters. Her fascination with Jack doesn't help. As Althea and Jack's connection grows stronger, so does the threat to their lives. What will happen if they do the unthinkable and fall in love? AGES: 14 plus AUTHOR: Adrianne Finlay received her PhD in literature and creative writing from Binghamton University. Originally from Ithaca, New York, she now lives in Cedar Falls, Iowa with her husband, the poet J. D. Schraffenberger, and their two young daughters. She is an associate professor of English and the Program Director of Creative Writing at Upper Iowa University in Fayette, Iowa. When she's not writing, reading, or grading, she's making soap to sell locally, raising money for type 1 diabetes research.

By:   Adrianne Finlay
Imprint:   Houghton Mifflin
Country of Publication:   United States
Dimensions:   Height: 211mm,  Width: 140mm, 
ISBN:   9781328595881
ISBN 10:   1328595889
Pages:   320
Publication Date:   September 2019
Recommended Age:   From 14 to 17 years
Audience:   Children/juvenile ,  English as a second language
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Unspecified

Adrianne Finlay is the director of the creative writing program at Upper Iowa University. She received her Ph.D. in English from Binghamton University. Her writing has appeared in Paterson Literary Review, North American Review, the Journal of Popular Culture, and New Linear Perspectives. Your One & Only is her debut YA novel.


A world without disease, strife and, war. Perfect, right? But what if it's also missing its heart? We fell for Jack and Althea's romance, which is made to order for fans of The Giver, Delirium and Warm Bodies, because woven into this fast-paced and romantic sci-fi is a thoughtful look at what it really means to be human. --Justine Magazine ...Finlay has created a thought-provoking tale that explores conformity, individuality, and what it means to be human...With imaginative, vivid world building, this should appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver's Replica (2016). --Booklist Like the works of Ursula K. LeGuin, inside this lyrically written, suspenseful tale is a deeply humane thematic core. --Kirkus Reviews, starred Review Readers will feel fully immersed in this new reality. A great choice for lovers of postapocalyptic story lines. -School Library Journal Haunting, moving and provocative, Your One & Only asks questions that will linger after you're finished reading--Adrianne Finlay is a debut to watch. --Amie Kaufman, New York Times bestselling co-author of Illuminae and These Broken Stars This is such a fascinating, clever story, with characters I truly grew to love and a plot that never stopped moving! As soon as I started reading, I found myself turning pages furiously, so excited to see what would happen next. A truly original and inventive story for my fellow lovers of sci-fi. --S.J. Kincaid, New York Times bestselling author of The Diabolic Fans of Kiera Cass's series, The Selection, will enjoy watching Jack and Althea-310's relationship grow into a love only humans could experience. --VOYA

My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.