Galaxy Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Galaxy Bookshop
Register with Galaxy Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

Abbey's Bookshop - Bookstore with specialisations in History, Science, Fiction, Crime

Language Book Centre - Foreign language learning, teaching and reading plus ESL

Galaxy Bookshop - Series Info

This page is a resource for Galaxy Bookshop customers who require information on their favourite Science Fiction, Fantasy or Horror series.
The below list is ordered alphabetically by author and under each author we have outlined their books in chronological order.
Where possible we have linked to the paperback version of a book. If no link is available, the book is either out of print or is a tentative new title due to be released in the future.
Please note that this list is a work in progress and that several popular authors, which have so far been omitted, will be added soon.

If you have any questions or comments regarding this list, please contact us at

| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z |

















Authors: A to K
For 'Authors: L to Z', click here


Douglas Adams
The Hitchhiker's Guide To The Galaxy

This classic 5-book series by Douglas Adams begins with the destruction of Earth - to make way for an intergalactic expressway! Readers will love Marvin the Paranoid Android, the all-knowing Guide (Don’t Panic) and marvel at the answer to Life, the Universe and Everything. Often copied, but never bettered, this ‘Trilogy of Five’ is a must-have in any sci-fi collection.

  1. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy
  2. The Restaurant at the End of the Universe
  3. Life, the Universe and Everything
  4. So Long and Thanks for All the Fish
  5. Mostly Harmless

Dirk Gently

  1. Dirk Gentlys Holistic Detective Agency
  2. The Long Dark Tea Time of the Soul
  3. The Salmon of Doubt

Back to top

Mark Anthony
Last Rune
When strange, wraith-like creatures attack a small town in the Colorado Rockies, reality begins to unravel. Travis Wilder is marked with a mysterious rune by an old friend. Entrusted with a stone of untold power, he is sent through a gateway to the Earth-like world of Eldh. Pursued relentlessly by an ancient evil, he and Dr Grace Beckett are all that stands between Earth, Eldh and the Pale King. Readers of David Eddings and David Farland will love this series.

  1. Beyond the Pale
  2. Keep of Fire
  3. Dark Remains
  4. Blood of Mystery
  5. Gates of Winter
  6. First Stone

Back to top

Piers Anthony
Incarnations of Immortality

  1. On A Pale Horse
  2. Bearing An Hourglass
  3. With A Tangled Skein
  4. Wielding A Red Sword
  5. Being A Green Mother
  6. For Love Of Evil
  7. And Eternity

Back to top

Piers Anthony's long-running, humourous fantasy series.

  1. Spell For Chameleon
  2. Source Of Magic
  3. Castle Roogna
  4. Centaur Aisle
  5. Ogre Ogre
  6. Night Mare
  7. Dragon On A Pedestal
  8. Crewel Lye
  9. Golem In The Gears
  10. Vale Of The Vole
  11. Heaven Cent
  12. Man From Mundania
  13. Isle Of View
  14. Question Quest
  15. Color Of Her Panties
  16. Demons Don't Dream
  17. Harpy Thyme
  18. Geis Of The Gargoyle
  19. Roc And A Hard Place
  20. Yon Ill Wind
  21. Faun And Games
  22. Zombie Lover
  23. Xone Of Contention
  24. Dastard
  25. Swell Foop
  26. Up In A Heaval
  27. Cube Route
  28. Currant Events
  29. Pet Peeve
  30. Stork Naked
  31. Air Apparent

Back to top

Isaac Asimov
Foundation Series
A classic tale of galactic colonization. The focus of these books is the trends through which a civilization might progress over time using history as a precedent.

  1. Prelude To Foundation
  2. Foundation
  3. Foundation And Empire
  4. Second Foundation
  5. Foundation's Edge
  6. Foundation And Earth
  7. Forward The Foundation
Second Foundation Series

  1. Foundation's Fear by Gregory Benford
  2. Foundation And Chaos by Greg Bear
  3. Foundation's Triumph by David Brin

Back to top

R Scott Bakker
Prince of Nothing
Readers of Steven Erickson would enjoy this dark fantasy series.

  1. The Darkness that Comes Before
  2. The Warrior Prophet
  3. The Thousandfold Thought

Back to top

Iain M Banks
Culture Series
This series of SF novels has become known as some of the best fiction to recommend to high-minded literary types who look down on all science-fiction.

  1. Consider Phlebas
  2. Player Of Games
  3. Use Of Weapons
  4. State Of The Art This is a collection of short stories containing a Culture story.
  5. Against A Dark Background
  6. Feersum Endjinn
  7. Excession
  8. Inversions
  9. Look To Windward
  10. Matter

Back to top

Greg Bear
The 'Darwin' Series
Bear is one of the modern masters of 'hard' SF (scientific detail & accuracy) and this story marks a return to the kind of cutting edge speculation that made his earlier works some of the genre's all time classics. Centered on well-developed, highly believable figures who are working scientists, these fine novels are sure to please anyone who appreciates literate, state-of-the-art SF.

  1. Darwin's Radio
  2. Darwin's Children

Back to top

Gregory Benford
Galactic Centre
This begins as a standard ‘first contact’ story, but from the second book in the series, it leaps into the future, presenting a dazzling look at ‘strange aliens’ from a human viewpoint.

  1. In the Ocean of Night
  2. Across the Sea of Suns
  3. Great Sky River
  4. Tides of Light
  5. Furious Gulf
  6. Sailing Bright Eternity

Back to top

Carol Berg
Bridge of D’Arnath
In the world of Leir, to associate with a suspected sorcerer means death. Seri, a noblewoman living in exile, finds her world torn apart when she shelters a fugitive from Leirian soldiers - a man with the skills of a warrior and a sorcerer! A must for readers of Robin Hobb.

  1. Son of Avonar
  2. Guardians of the Keep
  3. Soul Weaver
  4. Daughter of Ancients

Back to top

Anne Bishop
The Black Jewels

700 years ago, a Black Widow witch sees an ancient prophecy come to life in her web of dreams and visions. Now the Dark Kingdom awaits the coming of its Queen, a Witch who will wield more power than the Great Lord himself, for whoever controls the Queen controls the Darkness. A compelling blend of romance and fantasy.

  1. Invisible Ring
  2. Daughter of the Blood
  3. Heir to the Shadows
  4. Queen of Darkness
  5. Black Jewel Omnibus (Omnibus containing Books 1-3)
  6. Dreams Made Flesh

Back to top

Marion Zimmer Bradley

There are many Arthurian retellings out there, but this is a classic! Mythopoeic Award nominee.

  1. Mists of Avalon
  2. Lady of Avalon
  3. Forests of Avalon
  4. Priestess of Avalon
  5. Ancestors of Avalon with Diana L Paxon
  6. Ravens of Avalon with Diana L Paxon

Back to top

David Brin
Uplift Series
The central theme to this series is "Uplift: The process by which older spacefaring races bring new species into Galactic culture, through breeding and genetic engineering. The resulting client species serves its patron for a period of indenture to pay for this favour."

  1. Sundiver
  2. Startide Rising
  3. Uplift War
  4. Brightness Reef
  5. Infinity's Shore
  6. Heavens Reach

Back to top

Terry Brooks
The Shannara Series
There are many Tolkien imitators, but none as good as Terry Brooks, who brilliantly captures Tolkien's style and world creation. This is an epic quest of magic and adventure through a fully realised, fantastic world.

  1. First King of Shannara
  2. Sword of Shannara
  3. Elfstones of Shannara
  4. Wishsong of Shannara
The Heritage of Shannara

  1. Scions of Shannara
  2. Druid of Shannara
  3. Elf Queen of Shannara
My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.