Galaxy Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Galaxy Bookshop
Register with Galaxy Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

facebook
Google Book Preview
Luminous Dead
— —
Caitlin Starling
Luminous Dead by Caitlin Starling at Galaxy Bookshop,

Luminous Dead

Caitlin Starling


9780062846907

Harper US


Science Fiction » Science;
Science Fiction » Future Society;
Science Fiction » Dark Science Fiction;
Science Fiction » Technothriller


Paperback

432 pages

$29.99
In stock
Ready to ship
order qty:  
Add this item to my basket

This claustrophobic, horror-leaning tour de force is highly recommended for fans of Jeff VanderMeer's Annihilation and Andy Weir's The Martian. - Publishers Weekly (starred review) A thrilling, atmospheric debut with the intensive drive of The Martian and Gravity and the creeping dread of Annihilation, in which a caver on a foreign planet finds herself on a terrifying psychological and emotional journey for survival.

When Gyre Price lied her way into this expedition, she thought she'd be mapping mineral deposits, and that her biggest problems would be cave collapses and gear malfunctions. She also thought that the fat paycheck-enough to get her off-planet and on the trail of her mother-meant she'd get a skilled surface team, monitoring her suit and environment, keeping her safe. Keeping her sane.

Instead, she got Em.

Em sees nothing wrong with controlling Gyre's body with drugs or withholding critical information to ensure the smooth operation of her expedition. Em knows all about Gyre's falsified credentials, and has no qualms using them as a leash-and a lash. And Em has secrets, too . . .

As Gyre descends, little inconsistencies-missing supplies, unexpected changes in the route, and, worst of all, shifts in Em's motivations-drive her out of her depths. Lost and disoriented, Gyre finds her sense of control giving way to paranoia and anger. On her own in this mysterious, deadly place, surrounded by darkness and the unknown, Gyre must overcome more than just the dangerous terrain and the Tunneler which calls underground its home if she wants to make it out alive-she must confront the ghosts in her own head.

But how come she can't shake the feeling she's being followed

By:   Caitlin Starling
Imprint:   Harper US
Country of Publication:   United States
Dimensions:   Height: 203mm,  Width: 135mm,  Spine: 25mm
Weight:   304g
ISBN:   9780062846907
ISBN 10:   0062846906
Pages:   432
Publication Date:   March 2019
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Caitlin Starling is a writer and spreadsheet-wrangler who lives near Portland, Oregon. Equipped with an anthropology degree and an unhealthy interest in the dark and macabre, she writes horror-tinged speculative fiction of all flavors. The Luminous Dead is her first novel.


Ghostly, mysterious, and terrifying, The Luminous Dead will have you rooted to the spot until the very last page. -- Peng Shepherd, author of <em>The Book of M</em> The Luminous Dead dives into the human psyche and our ability for cruelty alongside compassion. Starling crafts a plot tight and gripping, weaves scenes dripping with wonder and terror, and keeps you wondering what's real and what's not until the very last page. Both beautiful and brutal, I loved it. -- K.A. Doore, author of <em>The Perfect Assassin </em> Starling's debut is tense and well-paced, taut and terrifying. This book never lets you (or Gyre) breathe for more than an instant before pushing you further into the frightening unknown. A book you won't want to put down until the resolution arrives. -- Elsa Sjunneson-Henry

My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.