Galaxy Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Galaxy Bookshop
Register with Galaxy Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

facebook
Google Book Preview
The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
— —
Stuart Turton
The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton at Galaxy Bookshop,

The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle

Stuart Turton


9781492670124

Sourcebooks


Horror » Crime ;
Horror » Detective Horror;
Horror » Occult;
Horror » Possession;
Horror » Thriller Horror


Paperback

432 pages

$31.95
In stock
Ready to ship
order qty:  
Add this item to my basket

Agatha Christie meets Groundhog Day...quite unlike anything I've ever read, and altogether triumphant. --A. J. Finn, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of The Woman in the Window The Rules of Blackheath Evelyn Hardcastle will be murdered at 11:00 p.m. There are eight days, and eight witnesses for you to inhabit. We will only let you escape once you tell us the name of the killer. Understood? Then let's begin...

*** Evelyn Hardcastle will die. Every day until Aiden Bishop can identify her killer and break the cycle. But every time the day begins again, Aiden wakes up in the body of a different guest. And some of his hosts are more helpful than others.

For fans of Claire North and Kate Atkinson, The 71/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is a breathlessly addictive novel that follows one man's race against time to find a killer-- but an astonishing time-turning twist means that nothing and no one are quite what they seem.

Praise for The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle: Costa First Novel Award 2018 Winner One of Stylist Magazine's 20 Must-Read Books of 2018 One of Harper's Bazaar's 10 Must-Read Books of 2018 One of Guardian's Best Books of 2018

By:   Stuart Turton
Imprint:   Sourcebooks
Country of Publication:   United States
Edition:   Reprint
Dimensions:   Height: 210mm,  Width: 140mm,  Spine: 32mm
Weight:   490g
ISBN:   9781492670124
ISBN 10:   149267012X
Pages:   432
Publication Date:   May 2019
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

STUART TURTON is a freelance journalist who lives in West London with his wife. Stuart is not to be trusted-in the nicest possible way. The 71/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is his first novel.


My favorite mystery so far this year, it's Agatha Christie, Groundhog Day, and Black Mirror mashed up into the kind of tale you just can't put down. - Sarah Cation, Canadian Living I'm green with envy; I wish I'd written this book. - Jenny Blackhurst, author of How I Lost You Gloriously inventive, playful and clever, this is a must for mystery fans. I wish I'd written it myself. - Robin Stevens, author of the Wells and Wong mystery series If Agatha Christie and Terry Pratchett had ever had LSD-fuelled sex, then The 71/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle would be their acid trip book baby. Darkly comic, mind-blowingly twisty, and with a cast of fantastically odd characters, this is a locked room mystery like no other - Sarah Pinborough, New York Times bestselling author Bonkers but brilliant. It's an Agatha Christie manor-house mystery - with a Black Mirror twist. Kept me engrossed and guessing throughout, and I still didn't figure it out. - Kirsty Logan, author of The Gracekeepers Pop your favorite Agatha Christie whodunnit into a blender with a scoop of Downton Abbey, a dash of Quantum Leap, and a liberal sprinkling of Groundhog's Day and you'll get this unique murder mystery. The twisting, cleverly-written debut . . . - Harper's Bazaar, 10 New Books to Add to Your Reading List in 2018 Absolute envy-making bloody murderous brilliance. - Natasha Pulley, author of The Watchmaker of Filigree Street A kaleidoscopic mystery that brilliantly bends the limits of the genre and the mind of the reader. The 71/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is urgent, inventive, creepy and, above all, a blast to read! - Matthew Sullivan, author of Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore Turton's debut is a brainy, action-filled sendup of the classic mystery. - Kirkus Atmospheric and unique, this is a mystery that adds Who am I? to the question of whodunit, with existentially suspenseful results. - Foreword This novel is so ingenious and original that it's difficult to believe it's Turton's debut. The writing is completely immersive...there are certainly echoes of Agatha Christie here, but it's Christie ramped up several notches, thanks to the malevolent twist on the Groundhog Day theme. Readers may be scratching their heads in delicious befuddlement as they work their way through this novel, but one thing will be absolutely clear: Stuart Turton is an author to remember. - Booklist Audaciously inventive, gripping, and original. - Louise O'Neill, author of Only Ever Yours and Asking For It This book blew my mind! Utterly original and unique. - International bestseller Sophie Hannah Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant! It's a work of sheer genius. An amazing, unique book that blew my mind. - Sarah J. Harris, author of The Color of Bee Larkham's Murder I hereby declare Stuart Turton the Mad Hatter of Crime. The 71/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is unique, energizing, and clever. So original, a brilliant read. - Ali Land, Sunday Times bestselling author Good Me Bad Me Dazzling. A revolving door of suspects (and narrators); a sumptuous country-house setting; a pure-silk M bius strip of a story. This bracingly original, fiendishly clever murder mystery - Agatha Christie meets Groundhog Day - is quite unlike anything I've ever read, and altogether triumphant. I wish I'd written it. - A. J. Finn, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of The Woman in the Window Agatha Christie meets Downton Abbey with a splash of red wine and Twin Peaks. Dark and twisty, lush and riddled with gorgeous prose, part of me will always be trapped in Blackheath. - Delilah S. Dawson, New York Times bestselling author This book had me mesmerized from the very first page to the last. A totally unique premise and a beautifully plotted tale told with breathtaking skill. One of the best books I've read in a long time. Every page either sparkles or fizzes with beauty or danger. This is a real mind-melter of a novel from a writer who has complete mastery over his work. If more people could write like this, who'd need cinema? - Imran Mahmood, author of You Don't Know Me Stuart Turton's debut novel is dazzling in its complexity, astonishing in its fiendishness, and shocking in its sheer audacity. Every page, every character, and every deliciously dark secret is an absolute treat. Turton is going places. - Anna Stephens, author of The Godblind Trilogy

My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.